Understanding Your Credit Card Processing Statement: A Step-by-Step Guide

Understanding your processing statement: A step-by-step guide

By Amanda Reaume

Confused by your merchant processing statement? You are not alone. Many business owners get stuck trying to understand the difference between things like interchange fees, assessment fees, and wholesale rates.

Luckily, you don’t need to be the world’s foremost expert in processing to navigate the ins and outs of your merchant statement. You just need a little help mapping out what this document means for your company.

Once you get more familiar with your statement, you’ll be better equipped to understand your merchant processing expenses so you can get back to what you do best: growing your small business. 

 

How does processing work?

When you think about processing, you likely imagine your customers swiping or tapping their cards, their transactions getting approved, and the sale swiftly ringing through. But many people and organizations are involved in the card processing journey.

Here are all the players: 

  • The cardholder: the person who gets a credit or debit card from a bank
  • The issuing bank: the institution that reviews card-holder applications, does a credit check for approval and issues a credit/debit card to be given to a person and/or business
  • The merchant: that’s you, the business owner
  • The merchant bank: the bank you use to accept deposits from credit card and debit payments
  • The payment processor: the organization that processes credit and debit card payments on POS systems or via ecommerce sites.  These transactions then get submitted for authorization and settlement
  • The payment card networks: Large companies such as Visa, Mastercard and American Express communicate and transfer the funds from the card user's (issuing) bank to the merchant (acquiring) bank

 

What are the steps involved in processing?

First, let’s break down the payment process. Here are the basic steps.

  • Authorization
  • When a card is used, the point-of-sale (POS) system sends a request on the merchant’s behalf to the payment processor who submits the potential transactions to the payment card network, who then connects with the issuing bank.

    The issuing bank either approves or declines the transaction and sends their response to the card association, who sends it to the payment processor and then finally to the merchant’s POS system.

    It sounds complicated, but, as you know, it usually takes just seconds to get a response.

  • Settlement and funding
  • From there, the merchant’s POS system sends approved transactions to their payment processor who ferries them along the chain until the issuing bank debits them from the cardholder’s account. The issuing bank then transfers the charges (minus the interchange fees) along the chain to the merchant bank, and the payment processor deducts their fees before the sum ends up in the merchant’s account.

    That complicated process used to take several days to complete, but now many companies offer next business day funding, which assists small business’ cash flow and keeps their transactions flowing freely.

    Why do you need to know the various steps involved in processing a payment, you ask? Because it helps you understand where different fees are going so your merchant statement makes more sense.

 

How to read your merchant statement

Merchant statements itemize all your business’ payment transactions during your billing cycle and list all the fees charged on your account. That can make for some pretty long statements — yours may add up to several pages or even several dozen pages.

So, how do you decipher it? Your statement will list details like your merchant ID, your sales activity, the interchange fees for each of your transactions, any chargebacks on your account, and any other fees. It will also list the most important number: the revenue deposited into your bank after settlement and funding.

Reviewing your processing statements regularly can help you quickly and easily track your revenue and identify when your business is at its most profitable. Did you offer a promotion at the beginning of the month? You can see the results in the form of sales activity. Did you launch a new product? You’ll be able to track how well it has performed. Over time, you can use these insights to progress your business and track growth.

 

Key payment processing terms 

Unsure what some of the payment processing terms above mean? We created a vocabulary guide to help you out!

  • Billing cycle
  • Your business’ billing cycle could be daily, weekly, or monthly. If you set up a daily billing cycle, then your processing fees will be debited every day and you will receive a daily statement. Similarly, if you set up a weekly or monthly billing cycle, then your processing fees will be debited at the end of that term and your activity will appear on your next applicable bill.

  • Merchant identification number
  • A merchant ID is an identification number that belongs to your business and tells the payment processing systems you use where to send your funds. Merchant IDs are like bank account numbers and shouldn’t be shared widely.

  • Chargebacks
  • Chargebacks are funds “refunded back to the cardholder.” They occur when a sale is reversed because the cardholder disputed it or because it has been connected to fraudulent activity. If the dispute is deemed valid by the credit provider, the funds are sent back to the cardholder, and your settlement account is debited. If your account has any chargebacks, they’ll typically be labelled in your statement.

  • Sales activity
  • This is the part of a processing statement that every small business likes. It lists the number of payments processed for your business during the statement period. This amount, minus fees and other costs, is your revenue.

  • Interchange fees
  • Interchange fees are charged by the issuing bank and make up the majority of processing fees. Your payment processor does not set or control these fees and the amount charged can vary from card to card. For example, one card may charge an interchange fee of less than 1%, while another may charge 4% of the total transaction. According to the Retail Council of Canada, “Lowering these fees will make doing business in Canada more affordable and will save Canadians money on their everyday purchases.”

  • Assessment fees

  • Also known as brand fees, these charges are small fees from card associations (Amex, VISA, Discover, or Mastercard). They’re often relatively small, ranging from 0.08% to 0.10% of monthly transactions.

  • Wholesale or base cost
  • The wholesale or base cost of your merchant processing includes the interchange fees charged by issuing banks that issue credit cards and the assessment or brand fees charged by payment card networks. This is the amount that you pay to process cards before you pay your payment processor their service or transaction fees.

  • Qualified, mid-qualified, and non-qualified rates
  • These terms refer to the tiered pricing rubrics used by payment processors to determine how much to charge in fees for each type of card. They’re based on the hundreds of different interchange fee rates charged by issuing banks.

    Different payment processors slot different kinds of cards into these buckets. Qualified transactions are charged the lowest processing fees and non-qualified transactions are charged the highest processing fees. According to the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, qualified rates are “charged for transactions that are eligible for the lowest merchant discount rate for that category of card, under the terms of the merchant’s contract. Generally these are point-of-sale transactions involving a PIN to verify the cardholder’s approval of the transaction. Premium cards generally attract higher rates than the qualified rate.”

  • Daily discount versus monthly discount
  • Do you have your payment processing fees deducted from your account daily or monthly? What’s best for you depends on your business. Some business owners prefer daily discounts so they know how much cash they have on hand at any time, while others prefer monthly discounts to help with cash flow and reconciliation. You can always get support online to find what works best for you and your business.

 

Calculate and track your effective rate

Want to do a bit of math that will help you better understand your business?

Calculating your effective rate allows you to track how your processing fees vary month over month and how much credit processing actually costs your business.

Your effective rate will give you a better idea of the true cost of your processing. All you need is:

  • Your total sales activity (TSA)
  • The total amount of fees you were charged (TF)

Now, divide your total fees by your total sales activity: TF/TSA = Your Effective Rate

Need an example?

Let’s say you brought in $10,000 in sales and added up $500 in fees on your processing statement. Your effective rate equation would look like this:

$500/$10,000= 0.05 or 5%

If your effective rate seems high, don’t worry. Remember, it’s a cumulative rate that boils down all of your processing fees into a single number. Be sure to do some research and find out if your effective rate is the right one for you.

 

Review your statements regularly

Now that you have the tools to fully comprehend your processing statements, you should be reviewing these documents regularly. Regular reviews of your statements can help you keep on top of chargebacks and monitor fees. Often, these issues can be on an accelerated timeline. For instance, if you want to dispute chargebacks, you typically only have a couple weeks to do so. If you notice a mistake in your statement, it’s important to tell your payment processor immediately.

Knowing how much you’re paying in processing fees will also help you better understand your profit margins. In turn, you can set prices that offset the cost of merchant processing, properly manage expenses, and grow your business.

 

Still have questions? 

You’re off to a great start using your merchant statement to gain insights into your business. But if you’re still confused, your payment processing provider is always there to help.

As a small business owner, you’re always on the clock and so is your credit processor. If you can’t call your processor directly, you can always get started online.

Understanding Your Credit Card Processing Statement: A Step-by-Step Guide

Comprendre votre relevé de traitement : Un guide étape par étape

By Amanda Reaume

Votre relevé de traitement de commerçant vous laisse perplexe? Vous n’êtes pas une exception.  De nombreux propriétaires d’entreprise ont des difficultés à comprendre la différence entre certains éléments comme les frais d’interchange, les frais d’évaluation et les tarifs de gros.

Heureusement, vous n’avez pas besoin d’être le plus grand expert en traitement au monde pour naviguer dans les tenants et aboutissants de votre relevé de commerçant. Vous avez simplement besoin d’un peu d’aide pour définir ce que ce document signifie pour votre entreprise.

Une fois que vous vous serez familiarisé avec votre relevé, vous serez mieux en mesure de comprendre vos dépenses de traitement en tant que commerçant et pourrez revenir à ce que vous faites le mieux : développer votre petite entreprise. 

 

Comment fonctionne le traitement?

Lorsque vous pensez au traitement, vous imaginez probablement que vos clients glissent ou tapent leurs cartes, que leurs transactions sont approuvées et que la vente est rapidement terminée. Mais de nombreuses personnes et organisations participent au processus de traitement des cartes.

Voici tous les intervenants :

  • Le titulaire de carte : la personne qui reçoit une carte de crédit ou de débit d’une banque.
  • La banque émettrice : l’institution qui examine les demandes des titulaires de carte, effectue une vérification de crédit pour approbation et émet une carte de crédit ou de débit à remettre à une personne ou à une entreprise.
  • Le commerçant : c’est vous, le propriétaire de l’entreprise.
  • La banque du commerçant : la banque que vous utilisez pour accepter les dépôts provenant des paiements par carte de crédit et de débit.
  • Le fournisseur de traitement des paiements : l’organisation qui traite les paiements par carte de crédit et de débit sur les systèmes de PDV ou par l’intermédiaire des sites de commerce électronique. Ces transactions sont ensuite soumises pour autorisation et règlement.
  • Les réseaux de cartes de paiement : les grandes entreprises comme VisaMD, MastercardMD et American ExpressMD communiquent et transfèrent les fonds de la banque de l’utilisateur de la carte (émetteur) à la banque du commerçant (acquéreur).

 

Quelles sont les étapes du traitement?

Tout d’abord, décomposons le processus de paiement. Voici les étapes de base.

  • Autorisation
  • Lorsqu’une carte est utilisée, le système de point de vente (PDV) envoie une demande au nom du commerçant au fournisseur de traitement des paiements qui soumet les transactions potentielles au réseau de cartes de paiement, qui se connecte ensuite à la banque émettrice.

    La banque émettrice approuve ou refuse la transaction et envoie sa réponse à l’association de la carte, qui l’envoie au fournisseur de traitement des paiements, puis au système de PDV du commerçant.

    Cela semble compliqué mais, comme vous le savez, il ne faut généralement que quelques secondes pour obtenir une réponse.

  • Règlement et obtention des fonds
  • À partir de là, le système de PDV du commerçant envoie les transactions approuvées à son fournisseur de traitement des paiements qui les passe le long de la chaîne jusqu’à ce que la banque émettrice les débite du compte du titulaire de la carte. La banque émettrice transfère ensuite les frais (moins les frais d’interchange) le long de la chaîne à la banque du commerçant, et le fournisseur de traitement des paiements déduit ses frais avant que la somme ne se retrouve dans le compte du commerçant.

    Ce processus compliqué prenait auparavant plusieurs jours, mais de nombreuses entreprises offrent maintenant une obtention des fonds le jour ouvrable suivant, ce qui aide les petites entreprises à gérer leurs flux de trésorerie et à assurer la libre circulation de leurs transactions.

    Pourquoi devriez-vous connaître les différentes étapes du traitement d’un paiement? Pour vous aider à mieux comprendre votre relevé de commerçant en sachant où vont les differents frais.

 

Comment lire votre relevé de commerçant

Les relevés de commerçant détaillent toutes les transactions de paiement de votre entreprise pendant votre cycle de facturation et répertorient tous les frais facturés sur votre compte. Cela peut entraîner des relevés assez longs; les vôtres pourraient compter plusieurs pages, voire plusieurs douzaines de pages.

Alors, comment déchiffrer votre relevé? Il indiquera des détails comme votre identifiant de commerçant, votre activité de vente, les frais d’interchange pour chacune de vos transactions, les rétrofacturations sur votre compte et tous les autres frais. Il indiquera également le chiffre le plus important : le revenu déposé dans votre compte bancaire après le règlement et l’obtention des fonds.

Examiner régulièrement vos relevés de traitement peut vous aider à faire le suivi de vos revenus rapidement et facilement et à déterminer quand votre entreprise est la plus rentable. Avez-vous offert une promotion au début du mois? Vous pouvez voir les résultats sous forme d’activité de vente. Avez-vous lancé un nouveau produit? Vous serez en mesure de suivre sa performance. Au fil du temps, vous pourrez utiliser ces renseignements pour faire progresser votre entreprise et en suivre la croissance.

 

Principales modalités de traitement des paiements

Vous ne savez pas ce que signifient certains des termes de traitement des paiements ci-dessus? Nous avons créé un guide de vocabulaire pour vous aider!

  • Cycle de facturation
  • Le cycle de facturation de votre entreprise peut être quotidien, hebdomadaire ou mensuel. Si vous établissez un cycle de facturation quotidien, vos frais de traitement seront débités chaque jour et vous recevrez un relevé quotidien. De même, si vous établissez un cycle de facturation hebdomadaire ou mensuel, vos frais de traitement seront débités à la fin de cette période et votre activité apparaîtra sur votre prochaine facture.

  • Numéro d’identification du commerçant
  • Un identifiant de commerçant est un numéro d’identification qui appartient à votre entreprise et qui indique aux systèmes de traitement des paiements que vous utilisez où envoyer vos fonds. Les identifiants de commerçant sont comme des numéros de compte bancaire et ne doivent pas être partagés à grande échelle.

  • Les rétrofacturations
  • Les rétrofacturations sont des fonds « remboursés au titulaire de carte ». Elles se produisent lorsqu’une vente est annulée parce que le titulaire de carte l’a contestée ou parce qu’elle a été liée à une activité frauduleuse. Si le litige est jugé valide par le fournisseur de crédit, les fonds sont renvoyés au titulaire de carte et votre compte de règlement est débité. Si votre compte comporte des rétrofacturations, elles seront généralement indiquées sur votre relevé.

  • Activité de vente
  • C’est la partie d’un relevé de traitement que toutes les petites entreprises aiment. Il indique le nombre de paiements traités pour votre entreprise pendant la période du relevé. Ce montant, moins les frais et autres coûts, est votre revenu.

  • Frais d’interchange
  • Les frais d’interchange sont facturés par la banque émettrice et constituent la majorité des frais de traitement. Votre fournisseur de traitement des paiements n’établit pas et ne contrôle pas ces frais et le montant facturé peut varier d’une carte à l’autre. Par exemple, une carte peut facturer des frais d’interchange inférieurs à 1 %, tandis qu’une autre peut facturer 4 % du total de la transaction. Selon le Conseil canadien du commerce de détail, « la réduction de ces frais rendra le commerce au Canada plus abordable et permettra aux Canadiens d’économiser de l’argent sur leurs achats quotidiens. »

  • Frais d’évaluation

  • Aussi connus sous le nom de frais de marque, il s’agit de frais peu élevés provenant d’associations de cartes (AmexMD, VISAMD, DiscoverMD ou MastercardMD). Ils sont souvent relativement faibles, et représentent de 0,08 % à 0,10 % des transactions mensuelles.

  • Coût de gros ou de base
  • Le coût de gros ou de base du traitement du commerçant comprend les frais d’interchange facturés par les banques émettrices qui émettent des cartes de crédit et les frais d’évaluation ou de marque facturés par les réseaux de cartes de paiement. Il s’agit du montant que vous payez pour traiter les cartes avant de payer à votre fournisseur de traitement des paiements ses frais de service ou de transaction.

  • Taux qualifiés, moyennement qualifiés et non qualifiés
  • Ces termes font référence aux rubriques de tarification à plusieurs niveaux utilisées par les fournisseurs de traitement des paiements pour déterminer le montant des frais à facturer pour chaque type de carte. Ils sont basés sur des centaines de taux de frais d’interchange différents facturés par les banques émettrices.

    Différents fournisseurs de traitement des paiements placent différents types de cartes dans ces catégories. Les transactions qualifiées sont facturées les frais de traitement les plus bas et les transactions non qualifiées sont facturées les frais de traitement les plus élevés. Selon l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, « les taux qualifiés sont appliqués pour les transactions admissibles au taux escompté du commerçant le plus bas pour cette catégorie de carte, selon les modalités du contrat du commerçant. En général, il s’agit de transactions en point de vente qui requièrent un NIP permettant de vérifier l’approbation de la transaction par le titulaire de la carte. Les cartes haut de gamme attirent généralement des taux plus élevés que le taux qualifié ».

  • Rabais quotidien par rapport au rabais mensuel
  • Vos frais de traitement des paiements sont-ils déduits de votre compte quotidiennement ou mensuellement? Ce qui vous convient le mieux dépend de votre entreprise. Certains propriétaires d’entreprise préfèrent les rabais quotidiens afin de savoir de combien d’argent ils disposent à tout moment, tandis que d’autres préfèrent les rabais mensuels pour aider à la trésorerie et au rapprochement. Vous pouvez toujours obtenir du soutien en ligne pour trouver ce qui fonctionne le mieux pour vous et votre entreprise.

 

Calculez et faites le suivi votre taux effectif

Vous voulez faire un peu de mathématiques qui vous aideront à mieux comprendre votre entreprise?

Le calcul de votre taux effectif vous permet de suivre la façon dont vos frais de traitement varient d’un mois à l’autre et le montant réel du traitement du crédit pour votre entreprise.

Votre taux effectif vous donnera une meilleure idée du coût réel de votre traitement. Tout ce dont vous avez besoin :

  • Total des activités de vente (TAV)
  • Le montant total des frais qui vous ont été facturés (FT)

Maintenant, divisez vos frais totaux par votre activité de vente totale : FT/TAV= votre taux effectif

Besoin d’un exemple?

Supposons que vous avez généré 10 000 $ en ventes et que vous avez ajouté 500 $ en frais à votre relevé de traitement. Votre équation de taux effectif ressemblerait à ceci :

500 $/10 000 $ = 0,05 ou 5 %

Si votre taux effectif semble élevé, ne vous inquiétez pas. N’oubliez pas qu’il s’agit d’un taux cumulatif qui répartit tous vos frais de traitement en un seul chiffre. Assurez-vous de faire des recherches afin de savoir si votre taux effectif est le bon pour vous.

 

Vérifiez régulièrement vos relevés

Maintenant que vous avez les outils nécessaires pour bien comprendre vos relevés de traitement, vous devriez examiner ces documents régulièrement. Des examens réguliers de vos relevés peuvent vous aider à rester au courant des rétrofacturations et à surveiller les frais. Souvent, ces problèmes peuvent être sur un échéancier accéléré. Par exemple, si vous souhaitez contester des rétrofacturations, vous n’avez généralement que quelques semaines pour le faire. Si vous remarquez une erreur dans votre relevé, il est important d’en informer immédiatement votre fournisseur de traitement des paiements.

Savoir combien vous payez en frais de traitement vous aidera également à mieux comprendre vos marges bénéficiaires. Dès lors, vous pourrez fixer des prix qui compensent le coût du traitement des commerçants, gérer correctement les dépenses et faire croître votre entreprise.

 

Vous avez encore des questions?

Vous êtes sur le point de commencer à utiliser votre relevé de commerçant pour mieux comprendre votre entreprise. Mais si vous avec toujours du mal à comprendre, votre fournisseur de traitement des paiements sera toujours là pour vous aider.

En tant que propriétaire d’une petite entreprise, vous êtes toujours au travail, tout comme votre fournisseur de traitement de crédit. Si vous ne pouvez pas appeler votre fournisseur de traitement directement, vous pouvez toujours commencer en ligne.