How to take online payments

By Lee Huffman

Customers increasingly make online purchases, which is accelerating the need for Canadian businesses to adopt online payment functionality. J.P. Morgan found that the average Canadian spends more than $2,000 per year on online shopping, and the number continues to grow. To capture your share of this growing market, your business may want to develop online payment capabilities. In this article, we’ll explain why you should consider taking online payments and we’ll provide a primer for how to do so.

 

The benefits of taking online payments

To justify the effort and expense of adding online payment capabilities to your business, it helps to understand why it’s important. You may see the following advantages. 

Increase your revenue base by capturing online shoppers.

While your business values in-person sales at your stores, adding online shopping is one of the quickest ways to increase revenue. According to the NPD Group, 82% of Canadian consumers made an online purchase in the first half of 2021. Online visits grew by 25% in the 12 months ending June 2021. Meanwhile, in-person visits at brick-and-mortar stores declined by 3% for the 12 months ending June 2021.

If your business doesn't have a way to capture online consumers, you’ll miss out on a valuable source of revenue and growth. In a 2021 Canada Post survey, 89% of Canadian shoppers said they planned to buy the same or more online for delivery in the future.

What's your business strategy to meet customers where and how they want to shop?

Reach an international audience.

In addition to expanding your reach with a local audience, adding online payments and e-commerce to your business can help you reach an international audience. Customers from around the world can browse and purchase your goods and services using online payment options. Language doesn’t need to be a barrier. Web browser tools can translate your website to make it easier for people in other countries to purchase. A report from All the Research, a U.S. market research firm, suggests the cross-border ecommerce market size will increase by an average of 17.4% per year between 2021 and 2026.

Allow customers to pay with digital wallets.

Adding online payments to your business isn't just about shopping through your website. Today's consumers increasingly use their phones to make payments with digital wallets such as Google Pay™.

In 2021, Finextra reported that almost three in five Canadians (57%) reported experiencing some form of payment friction last year. Most have been unable to use their preferred form of payment or dealt with limits on transfer amounts.

The study also found that 29% of Canadians have had trouble executing payments and many were frustrated by the lack of merchant payment options. Nearly a third (29%) of Canadians surveyed complained about stores not accepting contactless payments, and 23% were upset that not all payment methods were accepted.

Customers clearly want digital payment options. Companies may appeal to a wider base of consumers by working with a payment processor that supports digital wallets and other contactless payments.

 

Receive payments online and grow your sales outside normal business hours.

Most small businesses don’t operate 24 hours a day. Smart business owners know they shouldn't remain open when the costs to operate exceed the revenue they expect to receive.

However, when you're closed, you still lose out on revenue. With online payments, your overhead costs are low and your income potential is unlimited. Companies that sell physical products can fulfill orders when the business opens the next day. Companies that sell digital products can receive and fulfill orders 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

 

Components in the payment process

Setting up your business for online payments involves several key components. Here are a few helpful elements to understand if you accept online payments.

Payment processor

A payment processor manages the transfer of credit card information from the merchant to the payment networks and banks involved in the transaction.

Payment network

The association that sets the fees for credit cards, decides where they can be used, processes transactions, and helps facilitate payments. They serve as a bridge between merchants and the banks that issue credit cards. Payment networks include Visa®, Mastercard®, American Express®, and Discover®.

Card issuer

The financial institution, for instance the bank or credit union, that issued the credit card. 

 

How online credit card transactions work

When a customer uses a credit card to make an online payment to your business, the process works as follows:

  1. A customer provides their payment details and clicks submit.
  2. The payment processor electronically accesses many of the payment networks (for instance, Visa®, Discover®, and Mastercard®) for authorization and capture.
  3. The payment processor conveys the transaction to other payment networks (for instance, American Express®) for settlement directly with the merchant.
  4. The payment processor forwards bankcard transactions for clearing with Visa®, Discover®, and Mastercard®.
  5. The payment processor sends a debit of the transaction amount to the card issuer.
  6. The card issuer bills the cardholder for the amount of the transaction.
  7. The card issuer pays the payment processor for the transaction minus the interchange fees, which go to the card issuer.
  8. The merchant receives credit for the transaction minus the processing fees.

 

Different types of online payments

Common forms of online payments available for your business include the following.

Credit cards

Customers use a credit card to make purchases up to their available credit limit. Your business receives payment immediately, and the customer pays off purchases later. If the customer doesn’t pay the balance by their due date, the card issuer charges interest.

Debit cards

Consumers can use most debit cards as credit cards. However, debit card transactions tend to have a lower cost than credit cards, which makes them more appealing to businesses. Unlike a credit card, the bank immediately withdraws the transaction total from the customer's chequing account.

Interac e-Transfer

This Canadian payment method offers a way to send money using online banking. Participating banks and credit unions transfer funds electronically using secure banking methods.

Email invoices

Email invoices are digital versions of the traditional invoices a vendor mails to a customer. By emailing the invoice, the customer receives it faster and they can click a button to submit their payment online.

 

What to look for in a payment processing vendor

When choosing a payment processing platform, you want a trusted partner that makes your business more efficient and helps increase revenue and profitability. Look for a reliable payment processor that offers these services:

  • Offers flexible processing options
  • Accepts all major credit cards and contactless payment
  • Works with many popular shopping cart software programs
  • Uses fraud and encryption tools to protect customers and businesses
  • Offers online reports to provide information about payments
  • Provides 24/7 customer service support
  • Has transparent pricing and doesn’t charge hidden fees
  • Can help grow your business globally

 

The bottom line

By adding online payments to your business, you can increase revenue, expand your customer base, and streamline your operations. Customers increasingly use online and mobile payments to make purchases easier. Businesses that don't offer the payment options customers are looking for may miss out on additional revenue. Once you implement your online payment solution, it will offer a return on investment that quickly pays for itself.

Comment accepter les paiements en ligne

Lee Huffman

Les clients font de plus en plus d’achats en ligne, ce qui accélère le besoin pour les entreprises canadiennes d’adopter la fonctionnalité de paiement en ligne. J.P. Morgan a constaté que le Canadien moyen dépense plus de 2 000 $ par an en magasinage en ligne et que ce nombre continue de croître. Pour saisir votre part de ce marché en pleine croissance, votre entreprise pourrait vouloir développer des capacités de paiement en ligne. Dans cet article, nous vous expliquerons pourquoi vous devriez envisager de recevoir des paiements en ligne et nous vous fournirons un guide expliquant comment le faire.
 

Les avantages de recevoir des paiements en ligne

Pour justifier les efforts et les dépenses liés à l’ajout de capacités de paiement en ligne à votre entreprise, il est utile de comprendre pourquoi c’est important. Vous pourriez voir les avantages suivants.

Augmentez vos revenus en capturant des acheteurs en ligne.

Bien que votre entreprise accorde de l’importance aux ventes en personne dans vos magasins, l’ajout du magasinage en ligne est l’un des moyens les plus rapides d’augmenter vos revenus. Selon le groupe d’étude de marché NPD, 82 % des consommateurs canadiens ont effectué un achat en ligne au cours du premier semestre de 2021. Les visites en ligne ont augmenté de 25 % au cours des 12 mois se terminant en juin 2021. Entre-temps, les visites en personne dans les magasins physiques ont diminué de 3 % au cours des 12 mois se terminant en juin 2021.

Si votre entreprise n’est pas en mesure de capturer les consommateurs en ligne, vous risquez de rater une précieuse source de revenus et de croissance. Dans le cadre d’un sondage de 2021 de Postes Canada, 89 % des consommateurs canadiens ont déclaré qu’ils prévoyaient à l’avenir acheter en ligne et se faire livrer les mêmes produits ou plus.

Quelle est votre stratégie commerciale pour rencontrer les clients où ils magasinent et ce qu’ils utilisent pour ce faire?

Atteignez un public international.

En plus d’élargir votre portée auprès d’un public local, l’ajout de paiements en ligne et du commerce électronique à votre entreprise peut vous aider à atteindre un public international. Les clients du monde entier peuvent parcourir et acheter vos biens et services en utilisant des options de paiement en ligne. La langue n’a pas besoin d’être un obstacle. Les outils de navigateur Web peuvent traduire votre site Web pour faciliter les achats des personnes à l’étranger. Un rapport de All the Research, une société d’étude de marché américaine, suggère que la taille du marché du commerce électronique transfrontalier augmentera en moyenne de 17,4 % par an entre 2021 et 2026.

Permettez aux clients de payer avec des portefeuilles numériques.

L’ajout de paiements en ligne à votre activité ne consiste pas seulement à magasiner sur votre site Web. Les consommateurs d’aujourd’hui utilisent de plus en plus leur téléphone pour effectuer des paiements avec des portefeuilles numériques comme Google PayMC.

En 2021, Finextra a signalé que près de trois Canadiens sur cinq (57 %) ont indiqué avoir subi une certaine forme d’accrochage au moment du paiement l’an dernier. La plupart n’ont pas pu utiliser leur mode de paiement préféré ou ont fait face à des limites des montants de transfert.

L’étude a également révélé que 29 % des Canadiens ont éprouvé des difficultés à effectuer des paiements et que beaucoup étaient frustrés par l’absence d’options de paiement de la part des commerçants. Près d’un tiers (29 %) des Canadiens interrogés se sont plaints de l’absence de paiements sans contact dans les magasins, et 23 % étaient mécontents que tous les modes de paiement n’étaient pas acceptés.

Les clients veulent clairement des options de paiement numérique. Les entreprises peuvent attirer une plus grande base de consommateurs en travaillant avec un fournisseur de traitement des paiements qui prend en charge les portefeuilles numériques et autres paiements sans contact.

 

Recevez des paiements en ligne et augmentez vos ventes en dehors des heures normales d’ouverture.

La plupart des petites entreprises ne fonctionnent pas 24 heures sur 24. Les propriétaires d’entreprises intelligents savent qu’ils ne devraient pas rester ouverts lorsque les frais d’exploitation dépassent les revenus qu’ils s’attendent à recevoir.

Cependant, lorsque vous êtes fermé, vous perdez toujours des revenus. Avec les paiements en ligne, vos frais généraux sont faibles et votre potentiel de revenu est illimité. Les entreprises qui vendent des produits physiques peuvent remplir des commandes lorsque l’entreprise ouvre ses portes le lendemain. Les entreprises qui vendent des produits numériques peuvent recevoir et remplir des commandes 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept.

 

Composantes du processus de paiement

La configuration de votre entreprise pour les paiements en ligne implique plusieurs composantes clés. Voici quelques éléments utiles pour comprendre si vous acceptez les paiements en ligne.

Fournisseur de traitement des paiements

Un fournisseur de traitement des paiements gère le transfert des renseignements de carte de crédit entre le commerçant et les réseaux de paiement et les banques impliquées dans la transaction.

Réseau de paiement

L’association qui définit les frais pour les cartes de crédit, décide où elles peuvent être utilisées, traite les transactions et aide à faciliter les paiements. Elle sert d’intermédiaire entre les commerçants et les banques qui émettent des cartes de crédit. Les réseaux de paiement comprennent VisaMD, MastercardMD, American ExpressMD et DiscoverMD

Émetteur de carte

L’institution financière, par exemple la banque ou la caisse populaire, qui a émis la carte de crédit. 

 

Fonctionnement des transactions par carte de crédit en ligne

Lorsqu’un client utilise une carte de crédit pour effectuer un paiement en ligne auprès de votre entreprise, le processus fonctionne comme suit :

  1. Un client fournit les détails de son paiement et clique sur Soumettre.
  2. Le fournisseur de traitement des paiements accède électroniquement à de nombreux réseaux de paiement (par exemple, VisaMD, DiscoverMD et MastercardMD) pour l’autorisation et la saisie.
  3. Le fournisseur de traitement des paiements transmet la transaction à d’autres réseaux de paiement (par exemple, American ExpressMD) à des fins de règlement directement avec le commerçant.
  4. Le fournisseur de traitement des paiements achemine les transactions par carte bancaire à des fins de compensation avec VisaMD, DiscoverMD et MastercardMD.
  5. Le fournisseur de traitement des paiements envoie un débit du montant de la transaction à l’émetteur de la carte.
  6. L’émetteur de la carte facture le montant de la transaction au titulaire de la carte.
  7. L’émetteur de la carte paie le fournisseur de traitement des paiements pour la transaction moins les frais d’interchange, qui sont facturés à l’émetteur de la carte.
  8. Le commerçant reçoit un crédit pour la transaction moins les frais de traitement.
     
How to Take Online Payments

 

Différents types de paiements en ligne

Les modes de paiement en ligne courants offerts à votre entreprise sont les suivants.

Cartes de crédit

Les clients utilisent une carte de crédit pour effectuer des achats jusqu’à concurrence de leur limite de crédit établie. Votre entreprise reçoit le paiement immédiatement et le client paie ses achats plus tard. Si le client ne paie pas le solde avant la date d’échéance, l’émetteur de la carte facture des intérêts.

Cartes de débit

Les consommateurs peuvent utiliser la plupart des cartes de débit comme des cartes de crédit. Cependant, les transactions par carte de débit ont tendance à avoir un coût inférieur à celui des cartes de crédit, ce qui les rend plus attrayantes pour les entreprises. Contrairement à une carte de crédit, la banque prélève immédiatement le total de la transaction du compte chèques du client.

Transfert électronique Interac

Ce mode de paiement canadien offre un moyen d'envoyer de l'argent en utilisant les services bancaires en ligne. Les banques participantes et les caisses populaires transfèrent des fonds par voie électronique en utilisant des méthodes bancaires sécurisées.

Envoyer les factures par courriel

Les factures par courriel sont des versions numériques des factures traditionnelles qu’un fournisseur envoie par la poste à un client. En envoyant la facture par courriel, le client la reçoit plus rapidement et il peut cliquer sur un bouton pour soumettre son paiement en ligne.
 

How to Take Online Payments

 

Ce qu’il faut rechercher dans un fournisseur de traitement des paiements

Lorsque vous choisissez une plateforme de traitement des paiements, vous voulez un partenaire de confiance qui rend votre entreprise plus efficace et qui aide à augmenter les revenus et la rentabilité. Recherchez un fournisseur de traitement des paiements fiable qui offre ces services :

  • Offre des options de traitement flexibles.
  • Accepte toutes les principales cartes de crédit et le paiement sans contact.
  • Fonctionne avec de nombreux logiciels de panier d’achat populaires.
  • Utilise des outils de prévention des fraudes et de chiffrement pour protéger les clients et les entreprises.
  • Offre des rapports en ligne pour fournir des renseignements sur les paiements.
  • Offre un soutien au service à la clientèle en tout temps.
  • A une tarification transparente et ne facture pas de frais cachés.
  • Peut vous aider à faire croître votre entreprise à l’échelle mondiale.

 

Conclusion

En ajoutant des paiements en ligne à votre activité, vous pouvez augmenter vos revenus, élargir votre clientèle et rationaliser vos opérations. Les clients utilisent de plus en plus les paiements en ligne et mobiles pour faciliter leurs achats. Les entreprises qui n’offrent pas les options de paiement que les clients recherchent pourraient passer à côté de revenus supplémentaires. Une fois que vous aurez mis en œuvre votre solution de paiement en ligne, elle offrira un retour d’investissement rapidement amorti.